Skip to content

Colorado football: LB Josh Chandler-Semedo named Buffs team MVP

Colorado linebacker Josh Chandler-Semedo  during practice on Aug. 2, 2022. (Matthew Jonas/Staff Photographer)
Colorado linebacker Josh Chandler-Semedo during practice on Aug. 2, 2022. (Matthew Jonas/Staff Photographer)

Josh Chandler-Semedo’s time with the University of Colorado football team was short, but he made a significant impact.

On Sunday, Chandler-Semedo was named CU’s most valuable player for this season at the team senior awards banquet.

A graduate transfer linebacker from West Virginia, Chandler-Semedo led the Buffs (1-11, 1-8 Pac-12) with 101 tackles, including 73 solo stops. He also led the Buffs with 13 tackles for loss and three sacks. He added five tackles for zero yards, an interception and fumble recovery.

Despite coming off the bench and playing only 27 snaps in the season opener, Chandler-Semedo wound up playing the most snaps (734) on the defense.

During his time at West Virginia, Chandler-Semedo racked up 260 tackles, including 15 tackles for loss. He joined the Buffs this summer for his final year of eligibility.

Running back Alex Fontenot was named the team’s most outstanding player on offense. He  missed six games with injury, but was the team’s second-leading rusher with 315 yards. He rushed for 1,558 yards in his career.

Safety Trevor Woods was named the team’s most outstanding player on defense. He racked up 84 tackles (66 solo) and a team-best 11 touchdown saves. He forced two fumbles and in interception.

A full list of CU’s team awards is blow. All were selected by coaches unless noted:

Zack Jordan Award (most valuable player): ILB Josh Chandler-Semedo

John Mack Award (outstanding offensive players): TB Alex Fontenot

Dave Jones Award (outstanding defensive players): SS Trevor Woods

Bill McCartney Award (special teams achievement): CB Toren Pittman

Lee Willard Award (outstanding freshman): C/OG Van Wells

Darian Hagan Award (most dynamic offensive player): WR Jordyn Tyson

Deon Figures Award (most dynamic defensive player): CB Nikko Reed

Tom McMahon Award (dedication & work ethic): WR Daniel Arias & OLB Guy Thomas

Offensive Trench Award (most outstanding offensive lineman): TE Brady Russell

Defensive Trench Award (most outstanding defensive lineman): DT Jalen Sami

Offensive Scout Player of the Year: WR Chernet Estes

Defensive Scout Player of the Year: S Trey Ortega

Tyson Award (honors player with the most outstanding hits overall): SS Trevor Woods

Dean Jacob Van Ek Award (academic excellence): OLB Joshka Gustav

Derek Singleton Award (spirit, enthusiasm & dedication): WR Jaylon Jackson

Tiger Bussey Award (inspiration in the face of physical adversity): TB Deion Smith

Eddie Crowder Award (outstanding team leadership): OG Casey Roddick

Best Interview (selected by team beat media): OG Casey Roddick

Buffalo Heart Award (selected by the fans): TE Brady Russell