McKinley Wright IV, Tyler Bey from CU Buffs earn NABC All-District honors

Wright becomes CU’s first first-team selection since 2011

Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer
Colorado’s McKinley Wright IV on Monday was named first-team all-District 19 by the NABC, a first for CU since Alec Burks in 2011.

McKinley Wright IV and Tyler Bey were supposed to play in the NCAA Tournament last week. Instead, the junior duo from the Colorado men’s basketball team will have to find whatever solace they can as postseason awards continue to pile up.

On Monday, Wright and Bey earned spots on the All-District 19 team as announced by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Wright was a first-team selection, the first by a Buffs player since Alec Burks in 2011, while Bey became the sixth second-team selection for the Buffs.

District 19 encompasses the entire Pac-12 Conference, and Wright was joined on the first team by Oregon’s Payton Pritchard, Arizona’s Zeke Nnaji, Arizona State’s Remy Martin, and Tres Tinkle of Oregon State. Bey was joined on the second team by Onyeka Okongwu of USC, Isaiah Stewart of Washington, CJ Elleby of Washington State, and Stanford’s Oscar da Silva.

UCLA’s Mick Cronin was named the District 19 Coach of the Year.

Earlier this month, Wright was named All-District VIII by the US Basketball Writers Association after averaging 14.4 points with a league-best 5.7 assists per game in Pac-12 play. That district includes players from Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho, New Mexico, Nevada, and Montana. Wright earned his second consecutive first team honor on the All-Pac-12 team.

Bey was a second team All-Pac-12 selection and was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Bey and Wright are expected to test their NBA draft options, though what that might entail with the NBA currently on a COVID-19-inspired hiatus remains to be seen. Bey is projected as a second-round pick, while Wright’s name doesn’t appear on most mock drafts.