DENVER, CO - Aug. 30, 2019: ...
Cliff Grassmick/Staff Photographer
Colorado athletic director Rick George has been named to the College Football Playoff committee.

Colorado athletic director Rick George has been named to the selection committee for the College Football Playoff (CFP), as announced by CU and CFP executive director Bill Hancock on Wednesday.

Beginning with a meeting this spring, George will serve a three-year term on the committee. He is one of three new members of the 13-person committee.

“I am humbled and honored to join the College Football Playoff selection committee,” George said in a statement from CU. “The game of football has provided me with endless opportunities throughout my lifetime. This opportunity gives me the chance to give back to this great game. I’m excited to get to work alongside Bill Hancock and the other members of the committee.”

Each season, the committee compiles six weekly Top 25 rankings, starting the first week of November and ending with the selection of the four teams to compete in the CFP, as well as the eight schools going to the other New Year’s Six bowl games.

“Rick will be a terrific member of the committee,” Hancock said. “He has the two characteristics that we look for in committee members; he is a person of high integrity and he knows the game very well. We’re delighted he will be joining the group and look forward to working with him.”

George, in his sixth year at CU, was nominated for the committed by Pac-12 commissioner Larry Scott.

Wyoming athletic director Tom Burman and former Penn State linebacker John Urschel are joining George as new CFP committee members. They are replacing Oregon athletic director Rob Mullens, Robert Morris University president Chris Howard and former Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer.

Mullens was the c hair of committee for the past two years. Iowa athletic director Gary Barta will assume that role.