CU Buffs’ Nate Landman, Mustafa Johnson on Nagurski Trophy watch list

Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer
Colorado’s Mustafa Johnson was named to the watch list for the Nagurski Trophy on Tuesday, along with Buffs linebacker Nate Landman.

Colorado linebacker Nate Landman and defensive lineman Mustafa Johnson continue getting noticed nationally.

On Tuesday, both were named to the watch list for the Nagurski Trophy, which honors the most outstanding defensive player in the country.

The Nagurski Trophy, established in 1993, is presented by the Football Writers Association of American and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Earlier this month, Landman and Johnson were both named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award, the Maxwell Football Club’s defensive player of the year honor. On Monday, Landman was also named to the watch list for the Butkus Award, which honors the top linebacker in the country.

Landman and Johnson have also both received preseason all-Pac-12 recognition from various publications.

Landman led the Buffaloes with 123 tackles last season, while adding four sacks, 13 tackles for loss, five pass breakups and two interceptions. Johnson had 73 tackles, 8.5 sacks, 17.5 tackles for loss and 16 quarterback pressures a year ago.

Colorado players named to watch lists so far:

Maxwell Award (player of the year): QB Steven Montez and WR Laviska Shenault

Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year): Landman and Johnson

Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback): Montez

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver): Shenault

Rimington Trophy (top center): C Tim Lynott Jr.

Butkus Award (top linebacker): Landman and LB Davion Taylor

Nagurski Trophy (defensive player of the year): Landman and Johnson

Several other watch lists will be announced this week.