Skip to content
Colorado's Nate Landman, left, and Davion Taylor were both named to the watch list for the Butkus Award on Monday.
Cliff Grassmick/Staff photographer
Colorado’s Nate Landman, left, and Davion Taylor were both named to the watch list for the Butkus Award on Monday.

A pair of Colorado linebackers were named to the preseason watch list for the Butkus Award on Monday.

Senior Davion Taylor and junior Nate Landman were both included on the list for the award, which honors the best linebacker in college football each season.

The Butkus Award was established in 1985 and has included two winners from CU: Alfred Williams in 1990 and Matt Russell in 1996. Russell was also fourth in voting in 1995, while Ted Johnson (1994) and Jordon Dizon (2007) were both runners up for the award. Greg Biekert was one of 10 semifinalists in 1992.

Landman led the Buffaloes with 123 tackles last season, while adding four sacks, 13 tackles for loss, five pass breakups and two interceptions.

Taylor finished with 75 tackles, one sacks, 12 tackles for loss, 11 quarterback pressures and two fumble recoveries, one of which he returned for a touchdown.

Colorado players named to watch lists so far:

Maxwell Award (player of the year): QB Steven Montez and WR Laviska Shenault

Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year): Landman and DL Mustafa Johnson

Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback): Montez

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver): Shenault

Rimington Trophy (top center): C Tim Lynott Jr.

Butkus Award (top linebacker): Landman and LB Davion Taylor

Several other watch lists will be announced this week.

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.