Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer
Colorado quarterback Steven Montez was named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award.

Four Colorado football players were named to preseason watch lists for national awards on Monday.

Buffaloes quarterback Steven Montez and receiver Laviska Shenault were both named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which honors the college football player of the year.

Linebacker Nate Landman and defensive lineman Mustafa Johnson were both named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award, which honors the best defensive player in the country.

CU has never had a winner of the Maxwell or Bednarik awards, but running back Rashaan Salaam was runner-up for the Maxwell in 1994, and linebacker Jordon Dizon was one of 15 semifinalists for the Bednarik in 2007.

Other watch lists being released this week including the Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback) on Tuesday; the Doak Walker Award (top running back) on Wednesday; Biletnikoff Award (top receiver) on Thursday; and the John Mackey Award (top tight end) and Rimington Trophy (top center) on Friday.

Several award lists are scheduled to be announced the week of July 22-26, as well.