CU lacrosse’s Stinson named Pac-12 attacker of the year; other honors announced

Senior led team in points

Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer
Miranda Stinson was named the Pac-12 Attacker of the Year in women’s lacrosse on Thursday

Colorado senior attacker Miranda Stinson was named the Pac-12 Attacker of the Year on Thursday, as the conference announced all of its honors for the season after wrapping up the league tournament.

Stinson, along with four others, were selected to the All-Pac-12 Lacrosse teams. Fellow seniors Olivia Aschman (defender) and Samantha Nemirov (attacker) were also named to the first team, while sophomore Sadie Grozier and junior Julia Lisella were chosen for the second team.

Stinson, a three-time weekly Pac-12 offensive award-winner, was also selected to the Tewaaraton Top-25 list at the end of April as one of the nation’s top players. She leads the Buffs this year in points (74), goals (59), free-position goals (18), ground balls (35), caused turnovers (23), shots (147) and shots on goal (106). Stinson is also tied for the team lead in assists (15) and draw controls (51).

She is the conference leader in goals and goals per game (3.47), points per game (4.35), shots per game (8.65) and free-position goals per game (1.06). And, nationally, she ranks fourth in shots per game, eighth in shots on goal per game and 15th in goals scored.

The Buffs (10-7, 8-2 Pac-12) are awaiting the NCAA Tournament announcement on Sunday. If the Buffs are selected, this will be their third straight NCAA appearance.