10 Buff skiers tabbed All-RMISA; Johansen, Trulsrud named MVPs

SALT LAKE CITY — The Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Skiing Association released Tuesday its 2018 All-RMISA teams and 10 Colorado Buffaloes were selected, while CU skiers Ola Johansen and Tonje Trulsrud were named the league’s MVPs for men’s and women’s alpine, respectively.

Of CU’s 10 selections, eight earned first-team honors while the other two were on the second-team. Colorado’s eight first-team selections are the most of any school in the RMISA.

The 10 All-RMISA honorees are also the most since CU also posted 10 in 2013 and the eight first-team selections are the most since CU also had eight in 2009.

This is the second time that Johansen has been named the RMISA men’s alpine MVP for earning the most NCAA qualification points during the season, as he also did so back in 2016 in his first year in the program. With David Ketterer earning the MVP honor last season, Colorado has now earned that distinction three years in a row on the men’s alpine side.

For Trulsrud winning the MVP award, she is the first Buff to do so on the women’s side since Thea Grosvold in 2013.

CU becomes just the second school in the last 10 years to sweep the alpine MVP awards. Denver also did so in 2015 with Monica Hubner (women’s alpine) and Sebastian Brigovic (men’s alpine).

Colorado’s first-team All-RMISA selections

Alvar Alev (men’s Nordic), Hedda Baangman (women’s Nordic), Nora Christensen (women’s alpine), Petra Hyncicova (women’s Nordic), Ola Johansen (men’s alpine), Anne Siri Lervik (women’s Nordic), Petter Reistad(men’s Nordic), Tonje Trulsrud (women’s alpine)

Colorado’s second-team All-RMISA selections

Sondre Bollum (men’s Nordic), Christina Rolandsen (women’s Nordic).

Hyncicova has now been named All-RMISA all four years of her career. She drew first-team honors in 2015, 2017 and 2018 and was a second-team selection in 2016.

Johansen, Reistad and Trulsrud pick up their third consecutive first-team honors while Rolandsen repeats on the first team for a second-straight season. Lervik was a second-team selection as a freshman last year.

Of the 10 All-RMISA honorees, nine of them will be on CU’s squad competing at the NCAA Championships, which run March 7-10 in Steamboat Springs.