CU track and field athletes receive Pac-12 All-Academic honors

After putting together the program’s best effort at the NCAA Championships in recent history, the Colorado track and field program has been honored for the exploits of its athletes in the classroom as well.

The CU track and field team placed 13 student-athletes, six men and seven women, on the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic teams announced Friday.

The women placed two on the first team in Erin Clark and Michaela Wenning. Clark owns a 3.73 cumulative GPA in educational foundations, policy and practice masters program. Clark just closed out her 2017 outdoor season with two All-America honors at the NCAA finals, where she finished fifth in the 10,000-meter run and 16th two days later in the 5,000. A chemical engineering major, Michaela Wenning has maintained a 4.0 in her first five semesters at CU.

Elisa Grandemange an integrative physiology major, earns her first conference academic honor as she earned second team honors. Delaney Hall, Rajon O’Quinn, Mariah Slack, Maja Wichhart-Donzo all were named to the honorable mention team.

Ben Saarel headlines the men’s team as he earned first-team honors as an engineering physics and computer science major. Saarel also added an All-America honor in the 1,500 meters, as he finished eighth . Abdiel Agramonte-Moreno, Matthew Denton, Ryan Forsyth, Chris Herrick and Isaiah Kaiser all earned honorable mention honors.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Follow us on Twitter: