Cliff Grassmick / Staff Photographer
Colorado quarterback Sefo Liufau was one of five Buffs named as a captain for the 2016 season.

Sefo Liufau is on the verge of becoming the all-time leading passer in Colorado football history.

On Tuesday, the Buffaloes’ quarterback made history in a different way.

Liufau was one of five players announced by head coach Mike MacIntyre as CU’s captains for the upcoming season. Liufau joins fellow senior Kenneth Olugbode and juniors George Frazier, Jeromy Irwin and Phillip Lindsay as captains.

According to CU, Liufau is just the second Buffs player — and the first in over 120 years — to be named a captain in three different seasons. The first was quarterback Pat Carney, who was a captain in 1891, 1892 and 1893 — CU’s second, third and fourth seasons.

A three-year starter, Liufau needs just 13 yards to set CU’s all-time passing record. He has thrown for 7,397 yards in his career (Cody Hawkins holds the mark, with 7,409).

CU’s captains were selected during a team meeting on Tuesday morning.

“All those guys have been here at least four years,” MacIntyre said in a press release. “They’re truly ingrained into what we want, they know the culture that we have and what we are striving to achieve. Each one of them is a great competitor and will represent the team well.”

Lindsay, Liufau and Olugbode were all part of CU’s 12-player leadership council last season, which was used in place of naming captains. From that 12-player council, four players were selected as captains for each game.

Contact staff writer Brian Howell at or