CU women’s basketball: Smith, Swan honored at annual awards banquet

The University of Colorado women’s basketball coaching staff recognized 12 letterwinners and honored senior Jamee Swan at its annual end of the year banquet on Tuesday.

Head coach JR Payne, who was named the eighth head women’s basketball coach in program history last month had a chance to meet many of those in attendance and also introduced associate head coach Toriano Towns and assistant coach Shandrika Lee.

Junior Haley Smith was presented with the Ceal Barry Pride Award. The award, presented by Barry, is given to the player who shows pride in the program through leadership and strong work ethic both on the court and in the classroom.

Swan received the Lisa Van Goor rebounding award after leading the Buffs in that category for the second consecutive season, averaging 7.0 rebounds per game.

The four-year letterwinner ranked 12th in the Pac-12 Conference in overall rebounding. She also ranked 13th in the league in offensive rebounds at 2.3 per contest and 12th in defensive rebounds, averaging 4.7 a game. Swan had four games with double figure rebounds, including a season-high and team single-game high of 13 at Wyoming. She registered a team-best four double-doubles and finishes her career with 14 total, which is tied for 11th all-time in program history. Her 772 career rebounds is seventh on the all-time list and she is only the eighth Buff to record more than 1,200 points (1,245) and 700 rebounds in her career.

The Crystal Ford-Adams Scholar-Athlete award went to freshman forward Makenzie Ellis.

Smith presented the evening’s final award, known as the RISE Award to a trio of teammates after they each elevated their game to the next level this past season. Freshmen Kennedy Leonard and Alexis Robinson along with Swan won the award.

Junior Lauren Huggins also announced sophomore Brecca Thomas as the team’s Free Throw Ladder Champion and presented the Heart of the Buffalo Award to Smith.