Pat Rooney blog: The AP men’s basketball All-America teams and how I voted

The 2016 Associated Press NCAA men’s basketball All-American teams, followed by how beat writer Pat Rooney voted. (Note: Votes submitted prior to NCAA Tournament)

AP first team

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State, Sr.

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, Sr.

Tylier Ulis, Kentucky, So.

Brice Johnson, North Carolina, Sr.

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia, Sr.

AP second team

Jakob Poeltl, Utah, So.

Ben Simmons, LSU, Fr.

Perry Ellis, Kansas, Sr.

Kris Dunn, Providence, Jr.

Georges Niang, Iowa State, Sr.

AP third team

Grayson Allen, Duke, So.

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana, Sr.

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa, Sr.

Kay Felder, Oakland, Jr.

Jamal Murray, Kentucky, Fr.

AP honorable mention

Ryan Anderson, Arizona; Anthony “Cat” Barber, N.C. State; DeAndre’ Bembry, Saint Joseph’s; Ben Bentil, Providence; Trevon Bluiett, Xavier; Joel Bolomboy, Weber State; Evan Bradds, Belmont; Dillon Brooks, Oregon; Cane Broome, Sacred Heart; John Brown, High Point; Antonio Campbell, Ohio; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Stephen Croone, Furman; James Daniel III, Howard; Juan’ya Green, Hofstra; Derrick Griffin, Texas Southern; Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech; A.J. Hammons, Purdue; Marvelle Harris, Fresno State; Josh Hart, Villanova; Danuel House, Texas A&M; Brandon Ingram, Duke; Stefan Jankovic, Hawaii; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; Max Landis, IPFW; Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette; Dallas Moore, North Florida; Nic Moore, SMU; Gary Payton II, Oregon State; Alec Peters, Valparaiso; Justin Robinson, Monmouth (N.J.); Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga; Justin Sears, Yale; Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State; Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall; Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga.


Pat Rooney’s first team

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Pat Rooney’s second team

Kris Dunn, Providence

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Josh Hart, Villanova

Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Ben Simmons, LSU

Pat Rooney’s third team

Grayson Allen, Duke

Trevon Bluiett, Xavier

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Player of the Year: Buddy Hield, Oklahoma. He was my pick in December and has only cemented that choice since.

Coach of the Year: Dana Altman, Oregon. Don’t think any team from a Power 5 conference exceeded expectations as much as Altman’s Ducks. Oregon was picked fourth in the Pac-12 but won the regular season title, the conference tournament, and earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Pat Rooney: or