The Colorado ski team finished third in its own Spencer James Nelson Memorial Invitational, with men’s and women’s Nordic classic races concluding the event Sunday at Howelsen Hill in Steamboat Springs. The alpine teams were also in action Sunday in an RMISA Alpine Qualifier across town at Mount Werner.

The Buffs opened the day eight points behind Denver and 36 points behind Utah. The Utes ended up pulling away from the field, finishing with 649 points. Denver held off the Buffs and finished four points ahead, 587-583. Montana State (516.5) and New Mexico (514) rounded out the top five.

“This isn’t what we were hoping for or looking for, it was a strange weekend,” CU Nordic coach Bruce Cranmer said. “The cold affected us with some breathing issues, some other lingering illness. But there’s a long time between now and NCAAs, and hopefully we can come back and get going hard by then.”

On the same course the NCAA Championships will be held in about six weeks, the men’s Nordic teams began the day with the 20K mass start classic race, and only three Buffs finished the race. Junior Mads Stroem finished second in a sprint to the finish with DU’s Moritz Madlener. Stroem finished 1.1 seconds behind Madlener in a time of 56:52.9.

Colorado senior Arnaud Du Pasquier finished ninth in a time of 58:52.7, and junior Max Scrimgeour finished 18th in 1:00:42.6.

In the women’s race, CU sophomore Petra Hyncicova continued her streak of top five finishes, taking fourth in a time of 50:17.5.

Junior Lucy Newman was the Buffs third finisher in a time of 53 minutes flat. Freshman Christina Rolandsen was just behind Newman in 18th in a time of 54:18.3.

Teammate Camilla Brautaset, a junior, finished 21st in a time of 54:42.5 .

Meanwhile at Mt. Werner, the alpine teams were competing in an extra giant slalom RMISA Qualifier race after having finished the alpine portion of the meet on Saturday.

Sophomore Tonje Trulsrud continued her string of podium appearances in giant slalom action, finishing third in a time of 1:57.81. She now has four podiums in five GS races this year.

On the men’s side, freshman Ola Johansen finished second in a time of 1:56.53, a quarter of a second behind the race winner, Endre Bjertness from Utah.


University of Colorado Spencer James Nelson Memorial Invitational Team Results (FINAL) — 1. Utah 649; 2. Denver 587; 3. Colorado 583; 4. Montana State 516.5; 5. New Mexico 514; 6. Alaska Anchorage 402.5; 7. Westminster 240; 8. Wyoming 118; 9. Colorado Mountain 61.

Men’s 20k Classic (28 finishers) — 1.Moritz Madlener, DU, 56:51.8; 2. Mads Stroem, CU, 56:52.9; 3. Niklas Persson, UU, 57:05.5; 4. Kevin Bolger, UU, 58:04.3; 5. Erik Axelsson, MSU, 58:10.4; 6. Noe Bellet, UU, 58:38.4; 7. Lars Hannah, DU, 58:46.5; 8. Aljaz Praznik, UNM, 58:51.2; 9. Arnaud Du Pasquier, 58:52.7; 10. Oscar IVars, UU, 59:13.5. Other CU Finishers: 18. Max Scrimgeour, 1:00:42.6.

Women’s 15k Classic (30 finishers) — 1. Emilie Cedervarn, UNM, 48:58.0; 2. Veronika Mayerhofer, UU, 49:00.3; 3. Linn Eriksen, DU, 49:01.8; 4. Petra Hyncicova, 50:17.5; 5. Sloan Storey, UU, 50:21.5; 6. Ane Johnsen, CU, 51:05.0; 7. Cambria McDermott, MSU, 51:06.7; 8. Natalie Mueller, UU, 51:14.4; 9. Kati Roivas, UNM, 51:30.2; 10. Eva Sever Rus, UNM, 52:10.1. Other CU Finishers: 15. Lucy Newman, 53:00.0; 18. Christina Rolandsen, 54:18.3; 21. Camilla Brautaset, 54:42.5.

Men’s Giant Slalom (37 finishers): Endre Bjertness, UU, 1:56.28; 2. Ola Johansen, CU, 1:56.53; 3. Dominic Demschar, UU, 1:57.40; 4. Sean Alexander, UAA, 1:57.47; 5. Taylor Shiffrin, DU, 1:57.55; 6. Max Luukko, CU, 1:57.65; 7. Carl-Johan Oester ,UNM & Giulio Bosca, WMC, 1:58.04; 9. Sebastian Brigovic, DU, 1:58.21; 10. Cameron Smith, CU, 1:58.39. Other CU Finishers: 13. Henrik Gunnarsson, 1:58.86; 18. Roger Carry, 1:59.06; 27. Kasper Hietanen, 2:01.92; 28. Adam Zika, 2:02.64.

Women’s Giant Slalom (31 finishers): 1. Kristine Haugen, DU, 1:57.43; 2. Chloe Fausa, UU, 1:57.68; 3. Tonje Trulsrud, CU, 1:57.81; 4. Ann-Kathrin Bruening, WMC, 1:58.23; 5. Courtney Altringer, UNM, 1:58.47; 6. Tuva Norbye, DU, 1:58.83; 7. Charley Field, UAA, 1:58.88; 8. Tonje Sekse, WMC, 1:59.02; 9. Sydney Staples, UNM, 1:59.08; 10. Monica Huebner, DU, 1:59.39. Other CU Finishers: Thea Grosvold, 2:00.48; 18. Nora Christensen, 2:01.05; 25. Katie Hostetler, 2:03.98.

CU sweeps doubles, tops UTEP

Colorado tennis coach Nicole Kenneally’s team responded the way she wanted it to from its first loss of the season, as Colorado handed UTEP its first loss with a 5-2 victory in Albuquerque, N.M.

All three CU pairs earned close wins. Alex Aielloand Brigitte Beck pulled out a 7-5 win at No. 3 and Jeannez Daniel and Annabelle Andrinopoulos won 7-6 (2) at No. 2 to clinch the doubles point. Tina Bokhua and Nuria Ormeño Ruiz also won 7-6 (5) at the No. 1 position. It was the first time this season the Buffaloes have swept doubles.

Andrinopoulos and Bokhua quickly clinched the match for the Buffs in singles. Andrinopoulos breezed to a 6-2, 6-1 win over Daphne Visscher at No. 4, and Bokhua, playing the top position for the first time this season, topped Vivienne Kulicke in straight sets, 6-0, 6-3.

Ormeño Ruiz also won 7-5, 6-2 at No. 2 and Aiello battled back to a 5-7, 6-3, 1-0 (6) win at No. 6 singles for the final two points for the Buffaloes.

CU 5, UTEP 2

At Albuquerque, N.M.


1. Bokhua, Tina (COLO) def. Kulicke,Vivienne (UTEP) 6-0, 6-3. 2. Ormeno Ruiz, Nuria (COLO) def. Wagenvoort,Lois (UTEP) 7-5, 6-2. 3. Santos,Duda (UTEP) def. Daniel, Jeannez (COLO) 6-3, 6-2. 4. Andrinopoulos, Annabelle (COLO) def. Visscher,Daphne (UTEP) 6-2, 6-1. 5. Bennett,Raven (UTEP) def. Wojcik, Kyra (COLO) 6-7 (4-7), 6-2, 1-0 (10-6). 6. Aiello, Alex (COLO) def. Tench,Matilda (UTEP) 5-7, 6-3, 1-0 (10-6)


1. Bokhua, Tina/Ormeno Ruiz, Nuria (COLO) def. Kulicke,Vivienne/Santos,Duda (UTEP) 7-6 (7-5). 2. Daniel, Jeannez/Andrinopoulos, Annabelle (COLO) def. Wagenvoort,Lois/Visscher,Daphne (UTEP) 7-6 (7-2). 3. Aiello, Alex/Beck, Brigitte (COLO) def. Tench,Matilda/Bennett,Raven (UTEP) 7-5