Skip to content

CU skiing: Buffs second after slalom races in Utah Invitational

The defending national champion University of Colorado ski team is second after the men’s and women’s slalom races in the season-opening Utah Invitational at Park City Mountain Resort in Utah.

Denver leads the way with 186 points and holds a 37-point lead over the Buffaloes (149). Westminster College is third with 147 points, followed by Montana State (119), host Utah (112), New Mexico (104), Alaska Anchorage (87) and Colorado Mountain College (19).

The Buffs were led by freshmen in both races Monday, with Ola Johansen taking second place in the men’s race in a time of 1:57.38, just over a half-second behind Denver’s Erik Read (1:56.86).

In the women’s race, freshman Tonje Truslrud sat in 17th after the first run and had the fastest second run in the field to move up to fourth place in a two-run time of 1:35.53.

Senior Adam Zika took 10th in the men’s race in a time of 1:59.69 and senior Thea Grosvold was eighth in the women’s race in a time of 1:35.89.

In the men’s race, CU third scorer was freshman Max Luukko, who was one spot behind Zika in 11th place in 1:59.88. The men’s team scored 78 points, second most in the field, and was seven points behind Denver’s total of 85 points.

In the women’s race, CU’s third team scorer was senior Jessica Honkonen, who finished 14th in a time of 1:36.44. The women’s team racked up 71 points, 30 behind DU’s total of 101 and one ahead of New Mexico’s total of 70.

The Utah Invitational continues Tuesday with the women’s giant slalom race.


Team Scores – 1. Denver 186; 2. Colorado 149; 3. Westminster 147; 4. Montana State 119; 5. Utah 114; 6. New Mexico 104; 7. Alaska Anchorage 87; 8. Colorado Mountain 19.

Men’s slalom (35 college finishers) – 1. Erik Read, DU, 1:56.86; 2. Ola Johansen, CU, 1:57.38; 3. Giulio Bosca, WMC, 1:57.78; 4. Tim Lindgren, WMC, 1:58.11; 5. Garret Driller, MSU, 1:58.62; 6. David Neuhauser, MSU, 1:59.42; 7. Jonas Nyberg, WMC, 1:59.53; 8. Sebastian Brigovic, DU, 1:59.64; 9. Taylor Shiffrin, DU, 1:59.66; 10. Adam Zika, CU, 1:59.69. Other CU Finishers: 11. Max Luukko, 1:59.88; 20. Kasper Hietanen, 2:02.09; 21. Roger Carry, 2:02.52; 23. Cameron Smith, 2:06.09. Did Not Finish (First Run): Henrik Gunnarsson.

Women’s slalom (33 college finishers) – 1. Kristine Haugen, DU, 1:33.72; 2. Julie Mohagan, UU, 1:34.41; 3. Tuva Norbye, DU, 1:35.37; 4.Tonje Truslrud, CU, 1:35.53; 5. Karoline Myklebust, UNM, 1:35.68; 6. Monica Huebner, DU, 1:35.75; 7. Sydney Staples, UNM, 1:35.78; 8. Thea Grosvold, CU, 1;35.89; 9. Benedicte Lyche, MSU, 1:36.17; 10. Chloe Fausa, UU, 1:36.20. Other CU Finishers: 14. Jessica Honkonen, 1:36.44; 24. Katie Hostetler, 1:47.14; 31. Clare Wise, 2:05.21. Did Not Finish (Second Run): Nora Christensen.

Join the Conversation

We invite you to use our commenting platform to engage in insightful conversations about issues in our community. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable to us, and to disclose any information necessary to satisfy the law, regulation, or government request. We might permanently block any user who abuses these conditions.