The Colorado women's lacrosse team will open its fourth season on Sunday against ninth-ranked Northwestern at noon at Kittredge Field.

The Buffs, which have been picked to finish third in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, are looking to have a breakout season, just barely missing the NCAA Tournament in 2016.

Colorado returns 11 of its 12 starters from the 2016 season, which includes five All-MPSF performers. Marie Moore, Darby Kiernan and Sarah Brown were first team members, while Johnna Fusco and Paige Soenksen were tabbed second team selections.

CU's season opener against Northwestern will be televised live on Pac-12 Networks.