Former Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam is one of two CU Buffs on this year's ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Salaam, who earned the school's only Heisman Trophy in the 1994 season, is on the ballot for the first time this year joining fellow former CU running back and assistant coach Eric Bieniemy. Together, they are widely considered the two greatest running backs in the modern era of the Colorado program.

The 2014 class will be announced next Thursday, May 22 in Dallas. While Salaam and Bieniemy are both worthy candidates and likely to eventually be enshrined, it might not happen this year because CU has had a representative in the past two classes, which doesn't happen often, according to National Football Foundation President and CEO Steven Hatchell.

Former CU lineman Jon Wooten earned induction in 2012 and former coach Bill McCartney was part of the 2013 class.

Former CU offensive lineman Joe Garten has been on the ballot in the past but did not advance to the final stage of voting this year. Former Buff linebacker Matt Russell also was nominated this year but did not advance to the final ballot.

To be eligible a player must have been named a first-team All-American by a recognized national organization used by the NCAA when awarding consensus All-America status. The player's college career must have ended at least 10 years ago and the player can't be currently playing professional football.