The University of Colorado cross country teams placed 15 individuals on the 2018 Pac-12 All-Academic teams, as announced by the league's office on Wednesday.

The women placed a total of 10 athletes on the team with a pair earning first team honorees, one second team selection and seven on the honorable mention squad. The men had five recorded honorable mention status.

Juniors Sage Hurta and Brianna Schwartz were each honored on the first team for the second straight year. Hurta, a chemical and biological engineering major, owns a 3.96 GPA, while Schwartz, a journalism and strategic communication major, has a 3.95 GPA.

Making her third appearance on the all-academic team was senior Mackenzie Caldwell, who was selected to the second team for the second straight season. She was also named to the first team in 2016. Caldwell has maintained a 3.86 GPA while majoring in accounting.

Senior Dani Jones and junior Karina Mann earned their third straight honorable mention selection, while senior Makena Morley and junior Tabor Scholl recorded their second nod on the team. Redshirt freshmen Holly Bent and Baylee Jones, along with junior Lindsey Koch, earned the honor for the first time.

On the men's side, three Buffs recorded honorable mention honors for the third time: seniors Ethan Gonzales and Justice Ramos, as well as junior Joe Klecker. Senior Ryan Forsyth and sophomore Paxton Smith earned their second honor on the team.


To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average, at least one year in residence at their institution, and participate in a minimum threshold of competitions.