The Colorado cross country teams had 18 individuals named to the Pac-12 All-Academic Teams on Wednesday.

The women placed a total of 11 athletes on the team with three earning first team honors, two second team and six on the honorable mention squad. The men also placed one on the first team, one on the second team and five received honorable mention status.

For the third time in her career, senior Kaitlyn Benner was named to the first team. Benner, who was also named the Pac-12 Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year earlier this season, is a chemical and biological engineering major with a 3.93 grade point average.

She was joined on the first team by sophomores Sage Hurta and Brianna Schwartz. Hurta has recorded a 4.00 GPA as a chemical and biological engineering major, while Schwartz, a journalism major, has earned a 3.97 GPA. On the men's side, senior Adam Peterman was named to the first team for the second straight season. He has a 3.79 GPA while majoring in environmental studies and geology.

The Buffs also placed three on the second team. Junior Mackenzie Caldwell earned a spot on the team as an accounting major with a 3.88 GPA, while senior Melanie Nun, a mathematics and economics major, has recorded a 3.77 GPA. Senior Christian Martin has earned a 3.63 GPA while majoring in international affairs.


The Buffs had 11 athletes named to the honorable mention team. Those Buffs are: Madie Boreman, Ethan Gonzales, Chris Herrick, Dani Jones, Joe Klecker, Karina Mann, Makena Morley, Justice Ramos, Tabor Scholl, Cayla Seligman and Paxton Smith.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete needs to have a minimum 3.00 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor to the team.