The University of Colorado had just one athlete competing on the third day of the 2014 NCAA Track and Field Championships, but that Buff turned in a solid performance for her squad.

Senior Shalaya Kipp came in fifth place in the 3000-meter steeplechase final, crossing the line with a time of 9:48.90 at Hayward Field on the campus of the University of Oregon, her second best time of the season.

Kipp's finish was good enough to earn her an eighth All-American honor, four of them which have come in the steeplechase. Michigan State's Leah O'Connor was the first to cross the line, clocking in at 9:36.43 and setting a new school record in the process.

"It wasn't Shalaya's best day, coming in as the favorite," CU head coach Mark Wetmore said. "Leah O'Connor made a strong move about a lap-and-a-half to go, and Shalaya was unable to respond. Anyway, she's had an amazing, wonderful career. She's one of our favorite people to have here at CU; smart, funny, totally cooperative, a wonderful young woman and we're just so thrilled to have had her.

We're sad that we didn't have a great day on the last race, but it will turn around, in the next couple of weeks."

While Kipp stayed close to O'Connor throughout much of the race, she was unable to sustain the pace for the length of the event, as the Spartan turned in the fastest collegiate time of the season. Boise State's Marisa Howard (9:43.82) crossed the finish line in second, followed by Baylor's Rachel Johnson (9:44.47), with Rachel Sorna of Cornell (9:46.96) finishing fourth.


Overall, the CU women moved to 11th place with 11 points in the team standings. The final day of the NCAA Track and Field Championships concludes today with sophomore Carrie Verdon competing in the 5,000-meter final, the only Buff competing on the day.

NCAA Track and Field Championships

University of Oregon, Hayward Field

Friday, June 13

Day Three

Women's 3,000-meter Steeplechase (FINAL)

1. Leah O'Connor (Michigan State) 9:36.43; 2. Marisa Howard (Boise State) 9:43.82; 3. Rachel Johnson (Baylor) 9:44.47; 4. Rachel Sorna (Cornell) 9:46.96; 5. Shalaya Kipp (Colorado) 9:48.90; 6. Grace Heymsfield (Arkansas) 9:49.01; 7. Jessica Kamilos (Arkansas) 9:49.25; 8. Alexa Aragon (Notre Dame) 9:54.27; 9. Maya Rehberg (Iona) 9:55.73; 10. Liberty Miller (Washington) 10:03.34; 11. Sarah Martinelli (West Virginia) 10:12.73; 12. Tova Magnusson (SMU) 10:33.59

Team Scoring (Women) Thru Event 42

1) Oregon 43.0; 2) Texas A&M 33.0; 3) Texas 29; 4. Georgia 25; 5) Florida 23; 6) Akron 20; 7) Boise State 18 and Kentucky 18; 9. Arkansas 14.5; 10) LSU 13; 11) Colorado 12.

Team Scoring (Men) Thru Event 42

1) Oregon 53; 2) Florida 28; 3) Georgia 24; 4) Wisconsin 20; 5) Texas 19.5; 6) Texas A&M 17.5; 7) Nebraska and Oklahoma State 16; 9) Arizona 15.5; 10) Baylor 15; 43) Colorado 2.0