A full list of CU's award winners (all selected by the coaches, unless noted):

Zack Jordan Award (most valuable player): TB Phillip Lindsay

John Mack Award (outstanding offensive players): QB Steven Montez

Dave Jones Award (outstanding defensive players): ILB Rick Gamboa

Bill McCartney Award (special teams achievement): TB Beau Bisharat

Lee Willard Award (outstanding freshman): PK James Stefanou

Offensive Scout Player of the Year: TE Brady Russell

Defensive Scout Players of the Year: DL Nico Magri

Dean Jacob Van Ek Award (academic excellence): TE/DE George Frazier

Derek Singleton Award (spirit/dedication/enthusiasm): S Ryan Moeller

Tyronee "Tiger" Bussey Award (inspiration in the face of physical adversity): TB Kyle Evans

Tom McMahon Award (dedication/work ethic): CB Andrew Bergner

Eddie Crowder Award (outstanding team leadership): OLB Derek McCartney

Offensive Trench Award: OT Jeromy Irwin and OG Gerrad Kough

Defensive Trench Award: DE Leo Jackson III

Hammer Award (hardest legal hit of the year): OG Gerrad Kough

Best Interview (selected by team beat media): TB Phillip Lindsay

Running back Phillip Lindsay was named the most valuable player of the Colorado football team on Sunday.

Lindsay was honored with the Zack Jordan Award - presented to the team MVP - at the Buffaloes' annual team banquet at the Dal Ward Athletic Center.


Lindsay, who finished his career as CU's all-time leader in all-purpose yards and No. 2 in career rushing yards, ran for 1,474 yards this season. He also set 24 school records and tied two others, and was the first running back since Rodney Stewart in 2011 to earn the Zack Jordan Award.

Sophomore quarterback Steven Montez earned the John Mack Award for most outstanding player on offense. Linebacker Rick Gamboa earned the Dave Jones Award for the outstanding defensive player. Sophomore Beau Bisharat earned the Bill McCartney Award for special teams achievement.

Placekicker James Stefanou received the Lee Willard Award as the most outstanding freshman. He's the first kicker to win that award, which was first presented in 1963.

For the season, 71 players earned letters, including 27 for the first time.

Contact staff writer Brian Howell at howellb@dailycamera.com or twitter.com/BrianHowell33.