Colorado Buffaloes quarterback Sefo Liufau and defensive lineman Josh Tupou have been named to the watch list for the 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award.

Now in its third year, the award is run by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame, and this year's watch list features 38 players from 24 FBS-level schools. Liufau and Tupou are among 16 players on the list from the Pac-12 Conference, the most from any league.

Previous winners of the award include former Oregon and current Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota and Notre Dame lineman Ronnie Staley, now with the Baltimore Ravens.

Five finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 17, and the winner will be announced on Jan. 20, 2017 at the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame induction banquet.

Liufau, the Buffs' presumptive starter under center this fall, needs only 13 passing yards to surpass Cody Hawkins for the most in program history. Tupou started 31 of 34 games for the Buffs before being suspended the entire 2015 campaign following his involvement in an off-campus brawl in February 2015. Tupou was an honorable mention All-Pac-12 selection in 2014.

Follow us on Twitter: