The Colorado ski team had one of its top freshmen claim a giant slalom win, but struggles on the Nordic side Saturday hurt the Buffaloes as they dropped from second into third in their own Spencer James Nelson Memorial Invitational in Steamboat Springs.

Utah jumped from fifth to first in the team standings, with the Utes scoring 468 points with six of eight events completed in the meet. Denver fell from the lead into second with 440 points, while CU is in the bronze slot with 432. Montana State (389 ½ ) and New Mexico (372) round out the top five.

"Things trade back and forth at times," CU coach Richard Rokos said of the differing results Saturday between CU's alpine and Nordic teams. "On the Nordic side, what happened to them is not common (finishing fourth in both the men's and women's point standings for an individual race)."

In the giant slalom, CU had the women's champion to go with five skiers in the top 13 in the men's race. Freshman Tonje Trulsrud used the second-fastest times in both the morning and afternoon runs to win the women's giant slalom in 1:56.58.

A couple of freshmen recorded top finishes for Colorado in the men's GS. Max Luukko finished third in 1:55.70, and Ola Johansen fourth in 1:26.17.

The cross country teams struggled Saturday, each finishing fourth in their respective freestyle races that featured interval starts. Cold temperatures in the low teens combined with a wave of sickness affecting many of the Buff skiers countered any home course advantage the Buffaloes had heading into the day.


The women raced first in their 5-kilometer event, with New Mexico's Emilie Cedervaern claiming top honors in a time of 15:11.7. Sophomore Petra Hyncicova posted CU's best effort, as she finished fifth in 16:01.8.

In the men's 10-kilometer version, freshman Petter Reistad paced the Buffaloes with a seventh-place effort in 26:54.4.


Spencer James Nelson Memorial/CU Invitational Results (6 of 8 events) — 1. Utah 468; 2. Denver 440; 3. Colorado 432; 4. Montana State 389½; 5. New Mexico 372; 6. Alaska-Anchorage 312½; 7. Westminster 240; 8. Colorado Mountain College 61; 9. Wyoming 58.Women's 5-Kilometer Freestyle (32 collegiate finishers) — 1. Emilie Cedervaern, UNM, 15:11.7; 2. Cambria McDermott, MSU, 15:48.1; 3. Veronika Mayerhofer, Utah, 15:52.4; 4. Anika Miller, MSU, 15:58.1; 5. Petra Hyncicova, CU, 16:01.8; 6. Mackenzie Kanady, UAA, 16:10.6; 7. Sloan Storey, Utah, 16:12.1; 8. Eva Severrus, UNM, 16:12.9; 9. Linn Eriksen, DU, 16:14.7; 10. Natalia Mueller, Utah, 16:22.8. Other CU Finishers: 13. Ane Johnsen, 16:36.2; 24. Lucy Newman, 18:18.2; 25. Jessi Knori, 18:21.1; 26. Camilla Brautset, 18:26.7; 27. Christina Rolandsen, 18:34.8.Men's 10-Kilometer Freestyle (32 collegiate finishers) — 1. Moritz Madlener, DU, 26:05.1; 2. Niklas Persson, Utah, 26:09.2; 3. Nick Hendrickson, Utah, 26:10.2; 4. Sawyer Kesselheim, MSU, 26:18.9; 5. Karsten Hokanson, MSU, 26:30.6; 6. Noe Bellet, Utah, 26:52.6; 7. Petter Reistad, CU, 26:54.4; 8. Mads Stroem, CU, 27;12.0; 9. Kevin Bolger, Utah, 27:17.4; 10. Forrest Mahlen, MSU, 27:20.9. Other CU Finishers: 15. Arnaud Du Pasquier, 28:00.8; 30. Maxfield Scrimgeour, 29:50.2; 31. Ian Boucher, 29:54.4; 32. Jackson Hill, 34:57.5.Men's Giant Slalom (35 collegiate finishers) — 1. Endre Bjertness, Utah, 1:55.26; 2. Giulio Bosca, WMC, 1:55.68; 3. Max Luukko, CU, 1:55.70; 4. Ola Johansen, CU, 1:26.17; 5. Sean Alexander, UAA, 1:56.13; 6. Taylor Shiffrin, DU, 1:56.16; 7. Carl-Johan Oester, UNM, 1:56.41; 8. Joergen Brath, Utah, 1:56.53; 9. Dominique Demschar, Utah, 1:56.75; 10. Roger Carry, CU, 1:56.80. Other CU Finishers: 12. Cameron Smith, 1:57.23; 13. Henrik Gunnarsson, 1:57.28; 23. Kasper Hietanen, 1:59.17. DNS (second run): Adam Zika.Women's Giant Slalom (32 collegiate finishers) — 1. Tonje Trulsrud, CU, 1:56.58; 2. Julie Mohagen, Utah, 1:56.73; 3. Katharine Irwin, UNM, 1:56.95; 4. Monica Huebner, DU, 1:57.65; 5 (tie). Chloe Fausa, Utah, Kristine Haugen, DU and Ann-Kathrin Breuning, WMC, 1:57.72; 8. Benedicte Lyche, MSU, 1:58.28; 9. Roni Remme, Utah, 1:58.38; 10. Tuva Norbye, DU, 1:58.40. Other CU Finishers: 14. Thea Grosvold, 1:59.91; 24. Nora Christensen, 2:01.40; 27. Katie Hostetler, 2:03.62. DNS (second run): Clare Wise.

Buffs impress on final day of AFA Invitational

A pair of freshmen, Tabor Scholl and Elissa Mann, dominated the 800-meter run, their first races in uniform for the University of Colorado, at the Air Force Invitational, finishing first and second, respectively.

Scholl won the race in 2:12.24, which put her fourth on CU's all-time performers list. Mann was less than a half of a second behind Scholl, crossing the finish in 2:12.64, which is fifth all-time for the Buffs.

The men also had success in the 800. Nick Harris, who was racing unattached, won in 1:51.63. Sophomore Zach Perrin was third after a 1:53.72 performance.

The 3,000-meter run, like the 800, was also ruled by the Buffs. Sophomore Ryan Forsyth won the men's race in 8:43.55, defeating Alex Monroe (Boulder Training Club) by almost four seconds (8:47.18).

On the women's side, sophomore Mackenzie Caldwell took top honors, finishing the race in 10:08.83.

Sophomore Ana Holland equaled her collegiate best in the 200 finals, crossing the finish in 24.18, to win the 200-meter dash.

Freshman Duane McClurkin Jr. ran a personal best (48.20) to win the 400-meter dash.

In the field events, sophomore Mariah Walker notched a throw of 46-11.50 on her third attempt of the day to win the shot put. Senior Abriann a Torres, who won the pentathlon on Thursday, placed third in the shot put with a mark of 43-4.50.